There are times when web content needs to be temporarily hidden from the public. If a new section of the site is being actively added to, those modifications may need to be hidden until the content/structure of the page or content are finalized. Entire pages can be hidden from the public or specific content modules. Limiting access to the public requires site authentication (being logged into the site) in order to view the content.
IMPORTANT: When creating a new page you wish to hide, it is very important to save the new page before altering permissions. If you alter permissions before saving the page, the new page does not exist yet so mojoPortal loads permissions for the parent page (the page you originally were viewing when you clicked "New Page") and you can unintentionally change permissions on the wrong page.
Altering Permissions at the Page Level
To unpublish a page from public viewing, in Page Settings, click "Manage Page Permissions." The next page to load has multiple options; select "Roles that can view this page." A page with all of the current mojoPortal Roles will be displayed. Uncheck the box next to "All Users" and click "Save."
While logged in, you will be able to view and edit the page and it will continue to be displayed in the navigation, but upon logging out, the page will no longer be displayed on the navigation or viewable. To publish the page, simply follow the above instructions and recheck the "All Users" check box and resave.
Altering Permissions for Feature Instances (such as the HTML Content Module)
Feature Instances (HTML Content Modules, Image Galleries, RSS Feeds etc) can also be hidden from the public by updating the permissions in the Feature Instance Settings. This is a useful tool if content needs to be largely restructured and you do not wish to 'publish' the new content until it is in a finalized state. The live content can be copied and pasted into the new, hidden Feature where changes can be worked on. Once the changes have been finalized, you can then unpublish the 'old' content and publish the new version, creating a seamless transition to site visitors.
To access the permissions, click "Settings" next to the Feature Instance title. Click the "Security" tab, and then "Roles that can view this content." Unclick "All Users" and click "Save." Follow the above instructions and recheck "All Users" to make the content visible to the public.